Shadow | a flash fiction by Tola Kayode-Olla

123

Photo Source: Graeae on Pinterest

I am drinking the water from this pool again. Maybe tonight, I will be able to drain it and bring her out from the pool in which I drowned her two years back. Maybe I will be blind to the pool when I am drunk and forget her picture. Maybe I will wake up to reality and realize it’s all a dream.

I drowned Atoke in the pool of wine and alcohol two years ago. That night, I celebrated the full moon in my career and drenched myself in alcohol, just like every other night. I paddled my canoe of folly home. I was masked in illusion and ecstasy.

That night, I saw a lot of Atokes but I wanted to devour just my one and only Atoke; I wanted to strip her and dig my manhood into her hole but she was many in my sight. Some of the Atokes mocked my folly, some nagged me, some tried to fight me but just one was calm and stared at me uttering no word.

So, I decided to get rid of the noisy and troublesome Atokes and reduce the number into one. I never knew it was her shadow that was calm; I thought it was her. I murdered the mother of my children and spared her image. I murdered her and left her shadow untouched. The shadow which still hunts me in my pool of alcohol.

—–

Tola Adegbite OllaTola Kayode-Olla is a graduate of Literature in English from Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria. She is a potter and a poet, and a lover of art and of words. She is Co-founder and Editor-in-Chief of Bravearts Africa

Leave a Reply

