One Complete Rotation | a poem by Ndifreke George

• Photo Credits: video blocks.com

Photo Credits: videoblocks.com

I don’t believe
The sun won’t shine
When it’s morning
Can’t even feign
That the night of my birthday
Was a starless one
For my women are hopeful
And the hope I inherited never fails
As you slip into the wind
Leaving an imaginary you
My unfailing hope whispers
If I must believe Ferdinand Magellan
And still preach Geoid
I look forward to that day
When the earth’s rotation will be complete
For now, day and night is my consolation

—–

Ndifreke GeorgeNdifreke George (N’SOME) is an emerging writer. First published at nineteen, and although of science discipline, his creative talent has shot him into writing of poems, articles, songs, scripts, novels etc. His poems have been published on Nigerian and international literary magazines and journals like Tuck Magazine, The Poetry Community,  Social Justice Poetry, The Kalahari Review, Poems and Poetry, Praxis Magazine and The Antartica Journal. Few of his articles as well have appeared on the Calabar-based Nigerian Chronicles Newspaper. He has done a great deal including grooming students to write a book, and is aiming to do more.

3 responses to “One Complete Rotation | a poem by Ndifreke George

  1. I remember when I wrote this poem back then in NCCF, Ikare. I was about to miss someone who just finished and was about to leave us behind. Then I told the person (Don’t ask me weda na Male or Female), that the next time we will meet again will mean to me that the earth has completed its rotation (ONE COMPLETE ROTATION), based on the fact that the earth rotates and revolves (and anything that rotates, always get back to the point is started. Truly, from the moment “the person” left, the first rotation was completed on Saturday, 24th September, 2016. Thanks BRAVEARTS AFRICA for reminding me. The farewell poem had peeled sleeping memories. Funny enough, “the person” in question taught me how to write poems… Thanks a lot… Obodo Linda. I remember the “that’s not possible look” I gave you when you first told me about writing poems, but you insisted. Now, am published on Bravearts Africa, The Poet Community, The Antartica Journal, Social justice poetry, and still waiting for more on The Kalahari Review and TUCK Magazine. Still anticipating a postive reply from African writer and others.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hmm, such an interesting inspirational background to this amazing piece! It’s really inspiring, in fact.

      We’re glad for the fact you found your passion. And we’re even more glad Bravearts Africa is instrumental in bringing you along the way to fulfill that beautiful passion.

      Please, keep the pen writing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

